Transformative Media Literacy Scholar

The Moses Shumow Transformative Media Literacy Scholar Award recognizes a current student who is doing exceptional work at the intersection of journalism education, participatory media, media literacy, community activism, and social justice!

An abstract painting.

How to Apply

Awardees should have an emerging record of media work with impact beyond any single classroom or course outcome. Work with an explicit focus on social justice and equity will be prioritized. 

Undergraduate and graduate students may be nominated.  

Nominations are open from April 1 - June 15. The award will be presented at the 2022 Salzburg Academy on Media & Global Change. The Awardee will receive a monetary prize to support ongoing media impact work, and an opportunity to participate in the Salzburg Academy on Media & Global Change. 

Questions and inquiries can be directed to: [email protected]

Past Recipients

Photo of Sydney Angove


Sydney Angove is the winner of the 2021 Moses Shumow Media Literacy Scholar Award. This award is in recognition of her work alongside the Mapping Impactful Media Literacy team, a diverse group of researchers, educators, activists, and graduate students committed to interrogating how impactful media literacy practices can support more just, equitable, and inclusive futures.

Social Justice + Media Symposium Partners

Engagement Lab logo