Transformative Practice

The Moses Shumow Transformative Practice Award recognizes a current student who is doing exceptional work at the intersection of journalism education, participatory media, media literacy, community activism, and social justice! The awardee should have an emerging record of media work that has impact beyond any single classroom or course outcome. Work with an explicit focus on social justice and equity will be prioritized. Undergraduate and graduate students may be nominated. 

An abstract painting.

Award recipients are announced annually at the Social Justice + Media Symposium. They receive certification, monetary compensation, a slot to present their work at the symposium and a feature interview on The J-Word podcast.

Questions and inquiries can be directed to Paul Mihailidis: [email protected]

Past Recipients

Photo of Sydney Angove


Sydney Angove is the winner of the 2021 Moses Shumow Media Literacy Scholar Award. This award is in recognition of her work alongside the Mapping Impactful Media Literacy team, a diverse group of researchers, educators, activists, and graduate students committed to interrogating how impactful media literacy practices can support more just, equitable, and inclusive futures.

Social Justice + Media Symposium Partners

Engagement Lab logo